All NaNo’s Eve…

It’s almost here.

It will not be slowed by hurricanes or postponed because of flooding.

It’s ready to make me laugh, cry, and beg for mercy.

Or cookies. Either will do.

Am I ready for NaNoWriMo?

I hope so.

For those of you who are readers but not writers, NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel-Writing Month. The goal is to write 50,000 words of a brand-new novel during the month of November. If you complete all 50,000 words, you are considered a winner, and you get a nifty certificate.

This is the way I wrote the first draft of Bleeder last year. Having never written a novel before, I pantsed the whole thing. (Which means that I didn’t use an outline. Instead, I wrote “by the seat of my pants”). When I was done with my 50,000 words, I had a novel! Yeah, there were some false leads, some bad writing, and some paragraphs that ended in “yes” because I need 2,000 words that day and I’d only written 1,999. But I wrote my first book, and to my surprise, it wasn’t bad. There was a beginning, middle, and an end. There were interesting characters that I loved. There was a plot (and a good one). There was dramatic tension and decent dialogue. The ending was freaking awesome. After quite a few more revisions, I got Bleeder, and began to send it out to literary agents. That’s the step I’m at now.

NaNoWriMo is a big deal for me. It’s when I started believing I was a writer. It’s when I started looking for the coveted writer mug (by the way, remind me to write an update on that post…). It’s when I learned how to write crappy first drafts and EDIT LATER. It’s when my mom was stuffing a turkey and I was sitting at the kitchen table, pounding out my words for the day. It’s when my husband started to come home and ask, “How many words today?” It’s when I starting skipping social functions because I needed 1,500 words and I only had 800.

They don’t make a, “I can’t, I’m writing a book” t-shirt! Nano should really jump on that.

This year? I have high hopes. I did my own personal LaNoWriMo (Laura’s Novel-Writing Month) in the Spring, and it was an awesome learning experience. Yes, I got my 50,000 words in. No, they were not quite a finished book. But, like I said, I learned a lot about the Perils of Pantsing, and the whole writing-a-novel-in-a-month-with-a-full-time-job thing. I’m glad I did it. But boy, it was tough.

So what do I have ready this year?

A brand-new story. Lovely characters. A giant nebulous idea and a few little concrete ones. Do I have a plan? More than last year. Do I have it completely plotted? Not at all.

I have lots of coffee, an emergency roll of oreos, a predictable schedule, and ways to handle unpredictability. I also have cat ears on my headband (it is Halloween, after all).

I wish mine were this cute.

Am I ready to win this year? Yes ma’am I am.

Look me up at http://www.nanowrimo.org! My name is Laurabirdd.

Happy novelling!

About Laura Lee Anderson

I believe that stories change the world. That makes me a revolutionary. View all posts by Laura Lee Anderson

2 responses to “All NaNo’s Eve…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

