A Review of The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

Here’s the basic premise: A girl living in our own world is pulled into the faery world to rescue her brother. Now, faeries freak me out. I think it’s their utter lack of conscience. No faery does something simply because it is right. There is always something in it for them.
But this book was enchanting.

I loved Meghan Chase’s voice. It was a pleasure being in her head! She was frank and authentic, appropriately fearful and wonderfully brave. I re-read sentences to myself or out loud and laughed every time. As an actor, I would love to play this girl.

The story was inventive and well-th- the idea of iron, technology-driven faeries was beautiful and frightening. I loved the dueling love interests- Robby’s Huck Finn is a perfect contrast to Ash’s Mr. Darcy.

But most of all, I loved the integration of classic faeries. All of my favorites- Queen Mab, Oberon, Titania, Puck, the Cheshire Cat, fauns, satyrs, piskies, dryads… they were all there.

Yes, it was frightening to spend a little time in a place with no conscience. But because of the enchanting characters and the warm, selfless place inside Meghan’s head, I’m ready to go back.

4 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

