Personality Typing

I am officially a whole new woman since my freshman year of college 9 (gulp!) years ago.

For one of my classes, we were instructed to take a Myers-Briggs personality test. You know- the kind that results in four seemingly random letters that are supposed to mean something to those “in the know.” I took one again two nights ago. Between that time and this time, one very important letter changed. My beloved “E” which told me that I was over 90% Extraverted, changed to an “I,” telling me that I’m 33% introverted.

And after I read the “INTJ” description, I knew it had me pegged. Here are a couple of quotes (those of you who know me, please hold your laughter until the end):

“To outsiders, INTJs may appear to project an aura of “definiteness”, of self-confidence. This self-confidence, [is] sometimes mistaken for simple arrogance by the less decisive…”

” [the confidence] lies in the specialized knowledge systems that most INTJs start building at an early age. When it comes to their own areas of expertise – and INTJs can have several — they will be able to tell you almost immediately whether or not they can help you, and if so, how.”

“… an unusual independence of mind, freeing the INTJ from the constraints of authority, convention, or sentiment for its own sake.”

“… unusual trait combination of imagination and reliability.”

“Anyone considered to be “slacking,” including superiors, will lose their respect — and will generally be made aware of this…”

“… many also find it useful to learn to simulate some degree of surface conformism in order to mask their inherent unconventionality.”

“… relationships which ultimately do become established with an INTJ tend to be characterized by their robustness, stability, and good communications.”

This is me! Like it or not, it takes effort for me to say hello and goodbye because I don’t understand why we say it. I have recently gotten better at small talk because barista-ing demands it, but for 28 years it was a big mystery: Why would people talk about things that don’t matter? How does that put them at ease?

I do live like anything is possible! Before last November, had I ever written more than a 10-page essay? No! And then what did I do? I decided to write a book. So I wrote it. And while I was writing that first draft, I never thought about getting it published because I didn’t know if it would be any good. But it is! Objectively, analytically- it is good.

Because if there is one thing I know, it is YA literature. I’ve been reading it since third grade and have never stopped. Majoring in Acting, I spent four years analyzing stories, great literature, famous characters and the art of storytelling. I know when an author is planting a twist. I know when they’re pulling on your sympathies. I know who the girl is supposed to end up with and my “unconventional” mind often purposely picks the wrong one (this is a team Jacob, team Gale girl speaking).

I talk to teens and listen to what they want in a story. I ask them what they like about the books they read, why they chose them, and what bothers them. I look at the world around me and see the issues that need to be addressed, but I don’t let the issues overshadow the people, because we don’t read stories to learn about issues- we read them to learn about ourselves. And I hope people find themselves in my characters.

So to all the people out there rooting for me: Thank you! And remember: it’s not a matter of “if,” it’s a matter of “when.” I’ll continue to keep you updated on my publishing journey.

“Others may see what is and wonder why; INTJs see what might be and say “Why not?!” “

8 thoughts on “Personality Typing

  1. Joanna says:

    A) i also took the meyer-briggs test in college and got “ENFJ” as my personality type…maybe i should retake it.
    B) i can’t believe you’re “team gale.” hilary and i were talking about that and couldn’t believe that ANYBODY would like gale more than peeta. i’m a little disappointed in you.
    C) i love the blog!! i’m in a children’s lit class and we have to read children’s lit blogs, and i definitely like yours better than the one i have to read. too bad yours has a YA focus, so i can’t switch!

    • Laura Lee Anderson says:

      A) I was surprised at my new result, but it’s totally me. 🙂 I love these things!
      B) I was team Gale all the way up until we were definitely NOT supposed to be team Gale- you know, in the third book. And I loved him in the movie, too! So dreamy…
      C) Thank you so much! Recommend it to any YA buddies! 🙂

  2. Becca Buntjer says:

    Laura! I’m an INTJ! I used to be the only one in the department! (Now that there’s two, we should start a club!)

  3. sonjus says:

    Ok, Miss Spoiler Alert, some of us have not yet read the rest of the trilogy! I have now just learned that I’m not supposed to be rooting for Gale. Hmmph! Anyway, two things: I love this! You’re so talented. Can’t wait to read your book! (That was thing one). Two: Where did you take the Meyers-Briggs? I want to take it again…though I don’t remember what I was in college…way too long ago to dig that memory up!

Leave a Reply

