A Review of Collision by Stefne Miller

After you read my review and you want to buy the book, you can buy it here. And if you just want to try it out, read the first 3 chapters for free!

I wish more than anything that there was a 4.5 star rating. I LOVED THIS BOOK!

Congratulations, Stefne Miller, you won for most awesome book I’ve read in a long time.

As a writer who is a Christian (and don’t you dare stop reading this just because I said that word! Don’t you dare!), I had stopped reading Christian fiction because I was tired of it’s preachiness. I don’t want love to come softly! I want to be swept off my feet in an epic, relevant, titillating, relevant, exciting (did I say relevant?) story that people from all walks of life can enjoy. And Collision did just that.

Basic premise? Cabot, the “it” boy celebrity (think Sexiest Man Alive) goes to a house in the country for a couple months to find some solace. There is only one other person there: Kei, a gorgeous, red-headed missionary girl. She has no idea who he is. Add water, stir, and you get a captivating, life-altering love story.

What a breath of fresh air!

The book is written in first person and I love being in Cabot’s head. Although written by a woman, he thinks guy-thoughts. And what’s more than that: he makes celebrities human. If for no other reason (and there are a lot more reasons!) celebrity humanity is why I want teens to read this book. The first few paragraphs about press interviews sure sounded like prostitution to me. And the parallel (whether intentional or no) is right on the money. Ms. Miller did a great job getting inside Cabot’s head and telling it like it is.

Kei is breathtakingly real. Principled but not preachy, she is a heroine to the highest degree. She is beautifully flawed, absolutely truthful and not your average missionary kid. Her past makes her present even more miraculous, and her authenticity makes her undeniably attractive. Although we hear about her beauty, it is her heart that we (and Cab) fall in love with.

The story was great. I loved the idea of two people from two completely different worlds getting a glimpse of the other. I loved seeing their ideas turned on their heads. I loved the intricacies of their story and the little twists that left him chasing her. And oh how I love that he chased her.

Again- it was the authenticity of the story that really gripped me. Kei is how missionaries think. Kei is how they live. Kei is NOT how they are often portrayed! My little post-modern heart was doing backflips at the facades that honesty tore down!

“So why only four stars, Laura? I mean, if you’re going to recommend this book to everyone you know…” Good question, reader! Like I said, I wish there’d been a 4.5 star option. Here is where the .5 point went: Kei’s dialect (although it got better as the book went on) was a leeeeeetle bit annoying. Especially in the first scene. Although the “nobbing” conversation had me giggling like a little girl, that word is so ridiculous! Also, a tiny bit too much time is spent in Uganda- I began to lose interest because the romance was played down a little bit too much. There’s another reason below, but please don’t read it if you’re going to read the book.

***SPOILER ALERT STOP READING NOW!!!***

I think the end was a bit of a cop-out. I understand the whole, “he couldn’t lean on her faith anymore” thing. But, come on! Can’t they have a happy ending?! You know what is even less exposed than Christian dating? Dangerous, real-life, adventure-seeking Christian marriage. It would have meant a lot to me (as a missionary wife in inner-city Pittsburgh) to see them go on their adventure and let the girls I mentor know that it’s possible! It just seemed kind of like, “Hm, I don’t know how to end this so I think I’ll just kill her. It’s the only neat and tidy ending available that doesn’t end up too storybook.” Give them the storybook! Your readers need to know it’s possible.

Dear Ms. Miller- if you ever wanna hang out, let me know. I would love to know how you managed to make this book so perfectly authentic, entertaining, and non-preachy yet full of the gospel. It is a delicate balance and you walked that rope absolutely perfectly. I hope it becomes a movie! I would love to see Cab (and Kei, of course) come to life onscreen!

8 thoughts on “A Review of Collision by Stefne Miller

  1. Shelver506 says:

    And as a PK who grew up on Wick and Copeland, I am SO glad to read about something that attempts to be different from the norm (which is not a knock against the Loris. They’re awesome.)

  2. Stefne Miller says:

    Thanks for reading and reviewing the book! I’m glad you enjoyed it. Your review is great and It always helps to see how people perceive different parts of the story or my intention in writing something the way I did. Love it.

    I’ve been answering a lot of e-mails about why certain things happened in the story. Just the fact that people are left thinking about it and love the characters enough to get more info is a real thrill. It makes the journey that much more fun.

    I don’t know where you live, but if we’re ever in the same neck of the
    Woods, I’d love to hang out and chat!

    Thanks again!
    Stefne

    • Laura Lee Anderson says:

      Thanks for the comment! I feel so fancy that you actually read my review. As you can see, I loved your book and I’m thrilled to have bought it. Hanging out would be A-ma-zing, but I think you live in OK. I’m in PA, so that might be tough. Honestly, though, my dream is to be in a writer’s group with you- I could learn a lot. πŸ™‚ And if business ever takes you up this way and you need a free place to stay, let me know! I would be more than happy to help you out and maybe pick your brain at the same time. πŸ˜‰

  3. Stefne Miller says:

    Laura,

    (I’m sorry if the comment posts twice. I was having issues. Lol)

    I stopped by your review again in hopes that you would allow me to quote it on Wattpad.

    The publishing company that published Collision has closed and is under criminal investigation. It’s been a nightmare! My books are now no longer available in print. But, undeterred, I have decided to put Collision on Wattpad.

    I refined and added scenes and also added photos and it is now up! If you wouldn’t mind, I would like to use a quote from your review to try to gain interest in the story. It’s like starting all over again!

    If it would be okay, please let me know! Thank you so much!

    • Laura Lee Anderson says:

      Not a problem! I’m so sorry to hear about your publisher! What a horrible thing! I’m glad people will still have access to this book, though. It still sticks with me- changed the way I think about Christian fiction. Best of luck with all you do!

Leave a Reply

