A Review of Skellig by David Almond

So I’m a little behind the 8-ball on this one… So it came out in 2003… But its prequel is on the Carnegie list for this year, so I figured I’d better see what it’s all about.

Skellig is beautiful.

I love the story. I love its simple complexity. I love the entire mystery behind Skellig himself.

Three cheers for good families! Maybe it’s because I recently read blog about it, but have you noticed the number of YA books in which the child is parentless or poorly parented? Yes, this family is going through a hard time, but the love they have for each other is almost palpable. Yes, they are each flawed but they own up to their mistakes and (almost more importantly) forgive each other.

And three cheers for a complex teen male protagonist! Boys are so often written one-dimensionally. We were taken through his ups and downs, and I felt for him in every situation- joyful, sorrowful, hopeful… my tears joined Michael’s (or exceeded Michael’s) each time.

And also three cheers for a realistic 14-year-old male/female friendship! Although Mina is nothing short of unusual (I am now excited to read the prequel featuring her) their friendship is very realistic. Teen boys are capable of much more tender feelings than we give them credit for.

So why 4 out of 5 stars? I think it’s because it didn’t change my worldview. It’s not a book that I’ll buy (buying a book is a huge deal for me). But I did enjoy it very much and highly recommend it.

4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

