I’m sorry, I ran out of words

To all of you writers out there-

Do you ever run out of words?

Here’s how it goes for me: I set a ridiculous writing goal (think nanowrimo) and then spend the next month or so freaking out, slacking off, then writing like crazy and crying a little.

Oftentimes, by the end of the day, my words are gone.

My husband will get home and I’ll say, “Hey! How was… How was… that thing you do every day?”

“You mean ‘work?'”

“Oh yeah! Work! That’s what it’s called!”

Or I’ll be working at the coffee shop:

“Would you like room for… for… for… um. That stuff people put in coffee…?”

“Cream?”

“Yes! Would you like room for cream?”

This happens to me all the time. My explanation? My words have run out. I only get an allotted amount every day and when I have crazy catch-up 3,000 or 5,000 word days, I’ve simply used them all up. At that point, the most I can do is kick back on the couch and hope I remember what to call the remote control.

What I have at this point: 6084

What I should have at this point: 12,500

Don’t worry, I’ll make it. 50,000 by May 11.

4 thoughts on “I’m sorry, I ran out of words

  1. Hush says:

    I’m at about 7,000…and feel the exact same way. I don’t have a finishing date but I would like it be a lot closer than I think it is!

    • Laura Lee Anderson says:

      The best advice I ever got on finishing a project: Make a very ridiculous, very public deadline. And talk about it alot! It’s the ONLY way I finished the first one. šŸ™‚ Best of luck on everything! We’ll keep each other accountable… šŸ™‚

  2. Ryan M. Murphy says:

    I believe I ran out of words today. I did a little over 3,000 so far today. I don’t set myself deadlines or certain word counts I’m trying to achieve with a particular book. I just set my minimum daily word quota at 1,000 and try to go way past it. Good luck on your series!

Leave a Reply

