Library love

I love the library.

I have always loved the library. Every summer I would beg my mom to let me join the summer reading program because I knew I would pwn those other kids, earning enough book bucks to buy, like, the whole children’s section. Or a Skip-It.

And when I was in late elementary and middle school, my best friend and I used to go to the school library in the mornings before school and help the librarian.

Mostly, we shelved books. But our favorite thing was laminating them. You read that right, friends- I have physically put those shiny covers on many of the books at my elementary school. I needed a special board and a ruler and special tape… and I did it all. Sometime when I was growing up I began to wonder if I’d made up that memory. I mean, what school librarian lets two fifth graders come in and laminate books before school? Then, my childhood best friend sent me something wonderful in the mail- it was a sticky note that the librarian had left for us with instructions on laminating. And the sticky note… was laminated. Clear plastic, special tape, the whole bit. And I remember that day! We felt so sneaky, using leftover laminating supplies so that note would last forever! Guess what? It did last forever. Or at least about 20 years.

Anyway, my committed relationship with the library has continued- through college in the 24-hour Studying Room, as a young actress with no computer of her own, and now as a writer/actress/barista/wife who loves to read but cannot afford to buy every book that strikes her fancy.

I could write about many, many things- the school librarian reading Bruce Coville to our class,ย the stuffed eagle that guarded the town library’s front door (I finally decided that if I closed my eyes and ran really fast, it wouldn’t get me),ย the time I owed over $20 in library fines, the out-of-touch librarian who called me “little girl” and informed me that I was in the “grown-up books” (I was in college at the time), and most famously, the time I got locked in the library after hours. In fact, that legendary story will probably get its own post later.

For now… libraries- you are wonderful, magical, life-changing places. And librarians- you are much-loved, important, memory-building people!

Thank you for doing what you do.

14 thoughts on “Library love

  1. Sarah says:

    Libraries are the best places ever! I’m going to be volunteering at our library starting tomorrow and I couldn’t be more excited.

  2. Lisa K. says:

    I completely agree- I absolutely love the library! I was touched last week when the children’s librarian tracked me down without even knowing my name to make sure that I had enough summer brochures to hand out to all of my students before school was out for summer. That’s dedication!

  3. Heidi Kaminski says:

    Your Kaminski relatives were just in a photo shoot at the Hamburg Library–we may be featured in their promotional materials this fall!

  4. sonjus says:

    I love this post! And I love that a librarian warned you about being in with the ‘grown-up books.’ Oh my word. Hilarious. Also: I couldn’t agree more with your review of Trash. I don’t think I’ve ever used the word ‘fantastical,’ but it is a necessary one for describing that book. Sigh. Could’ve been a great one.

  5. Writerlious says:

    Ah, laminated things and Skip-its. I am feeling so nostalgic after your post. ๐Ÿ™‚ My hubby still works in schools. Secretly, I want to send things with him for him to laminate.

Leave a Reply

