A Review of The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Those of you who know my reviews know that I do not give 5-star ratings.

Except for now.

The Fault in Our Stars is excellent. The premise? Hazel, a cynical girl with terminal cancer, falls in love.

It is excellent. Did I already say that? Let me say it again: excellent.

It was written by a man from a girl’s perspective. This was the least girly girl that I’ve read in a long time, but she is definitely still a girl. John Green did an admirable job writing like Hazel. She is snarky, intelligent, and excellently realistic. She is unapologetic and blunt and very enticing. Her journey is excellent- from apathy and self-pity to self-sacrifice and high regard for others.

Augustus Waters is another character that will stick with me for a long time. His drive to mean something- to do something of significance- is inspiring. He is intelligent and charming. Just like Hazel, we are glad when he drops his “grand gesture” facade and reveals his innocent surprise. His character is revealed through tough circumstances, and although it isn’t perfect, it is sterling.

This book never pretends that it’s not a cancer book. We know from the outset that Hazel has terminal cancer, so tears are expected, but this book is SO much more than touching or sad. It is funny and irreverent and surprising. It is beautiful and ugly and insightful. I don’t like sad books and I gave this five stars. And again, for those of you who know my reviews, you know that I look for hope, and hope abounds in this book.

I wish I could say more, but I really don’t want to give anything away. All I can say is that I am buying this book. Then I’m re-reading it with a highlighter or a pen or something. So if you want a fantastic laughing/crying/ah-ha moment book, read this one!

5 out of 5 stars.

5 thoughts on “A Review of The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

  1. mollyspring says:

    Great review. If you haven’t read John Green’s other books, check them out! My favorite is Will Grayson, Will Grayson, but An Abundance of Katherines and Looking for Alaska are both good, too.

  2. mysticcooking says:

    I just listened to the audio version of this book last week – it was amazing! I really didn’t think I’d like it because of the sad premise (I’m wimpy sometimes in what I choose to read), but it was really, really good. Great review!

Leave a Reply

