Writer’s Wrefusal

Everybody talks about Writer’s Block. But today I am discussing something that (for me) is far more common. That silly stubbornness, that propensity to procrastinate; what I like to call… Writer’s Wrefusal.

You see, there is a semi-major plot device in my book that is about to change. And it’s about time. That device has always been passable at best. I remember writing it and thinking, “well, I don’t really know what else to do, so…” But now, after a few months and a few beta-reader reviews and some brain-storming with my own personal creative think-tank (my husband), I’ve found a different device! A stronger device with more character! You’d think that after all that time I’d be rarin’ to fix those sentences, cut those paragraphs, and make the whole story way more interesting…

And when I put it like that I’m almost ready to do it. Almost.

But the whole thing seems so daunting. All those paragraphs… in all those chapters… finding new dialogue… keeping up the pace while adding more words… moving locations of character descriptions…? Still keeping things natural and not forced…?

And the kicker? Even when it’s done, it’s not done. I’ll have to go back over the whole thing and continue to edit.

Poor me, getting to do what I love to do.

So maybe I should just put on my big girl panties (I can feel my mom cringing at that phrase from hundreds of miles away), call it Whiner’s Wrefusal instead of Writer’s Wrefusal, make myself some (more) coffee, and get to work. What do you think? Anybody else out there struggle with this? How do you get over it?

6 thoughts on “Writer’s Wrefusal

  1. Jon Huffman says:

    Ugh…. I know exactly this feeling. I got through draft one of a sci-fi novel (first of a trilogy) and then realized that later in the trilogy I will need a character that I don’t have, and that I need to introduce him in the first book, and, therefore, that I need to add a whole chapter and rewrite five other chapters, and come up with not only my first, new character, but also the supporting cast around him, and flesh out a new setting…… I’ve been stalling for about a month now, and I really just need to buckle down and do it.

  2. Patricia Miller says:

    Laura,
    Omg, yes. I feel it all the time. We live to write but let’s face it, it’s not as easy, wonderful, and glamorous as it looks. I think mind set is paramount here. I accept that it’s going to be exhausting. I accept that changes have to come in stages. If I were you, I would make a plan of what you will tackle first, second, third and so on. And yes, accept that you will be going through the same chapters numerous times to do so. I find that I can sometimes look at a chapter and handle 2 changes at a time but depending upon how big, maybe not. I am doing this very thing right now and I know that it’s a long process. But I feel so good when I cross 1 thing off the list, even though I turn back to page 1 with the next.
    Btw, having read your piece, I am dying to know what semi-major plot change you are making. Huh?
    Patti

    • Laura Lee Anderson says:

      Haha! Let’s just say there’s a clunky plot device involving a sugar packet and some very obscure Shakespeare…
      A list! What a great idea! I love crossing things off of lists! Maybe I’ll make myself a list this morning…

Leave a Reply

