The Next Big Thing (it’s about my new book!)

I was nominated for “The Next Big Thing” meme by Cassandra Giovanni,Β an author whom I highly respect. She has written a lot of YA books (and they’re on a Black Friday week sale)!

Now, this makes me a little nervous because it’s about my Work In Progress, which is currently my NaNoWriMo book. You all know I love this book, but my hands get shaky when I think about sharing it with the world. So here goes…

1) What is the working title of your Work in Progress?

Right now I’m calling it, “Yellow Bike,” because I have no idea what it’s name should be.

2) Where did the idea come from for the book?

A dream I had in which a Deaf guy came into a coffee shop and the cute girl barista only knew how to say “thank you,” in ASL. (a more common occurrence than you might think)

3) What genre does your book fall under?

YA Contemporary

4) Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

After writing the description of my male main character, Carter, I went a-searchin’ to find a good picture. This is what I found: He’s a Dolce and Gabana model named Simone Nobili. So this is what I think of when I think of Carter.

Now if only we could teach him to sign, teach him to act, and stop him from aging.

Be in my book-movie that doesn’t exist yet?

This beautiful model’s name is Emily Rudd and she’s a model out of Minnesota- thank you to an astute reader for pointing her out! Maybe someday I’ll get to ask Emily if she’ll be in my book’s movie. πŸ™‚

So if you see this and you still look like this, I would love to have you in my fake movie of my first-draft of my book!

 

 

 

5) What is the one-sentence description of your book?

A Deaf boy and a hearing girl fall in love.

6) Will your book be self-published or agented?

Agented, hopefully.

7) How long did it take you to write your first draft?

It’s not done yet! But it will take a total of 30 days. Exactly. (thank you NaNoWriMo)

8) What other books would you compare your Work in Progress to?

There are none I’ve seen that are like it, but I’d like to think it’s a little like A Fault in Our Stars meets a Sarah Dessen book. (Wouldn’t we all like to compare our writing to those two?)

9) Who or What inspired you to write this book?

My love of folk music, my love of the small town in which I grew up, my life-long interest in Deaf culture and fascination with American Sign Language. Different cultures intersecting are always interesting, too.

10) What else about your book might pique readers’ interest?

I am in love with this book. I am in love with both of the Main Characters. I write the chapters in alternating points of view, and whenever I’m in one of their heads, I don’t want to leave.

Also, this is the guy’s bike:

Sexy, sexy motorcycle. Ducati Streetfighter.

I’m supposed to tag people now, but this meme freaked me out so much that I’m leaving it up to my followers to choose:

Hey NaNo buddies! (ahem EBPike, ahem Bud Smith) If you want to participate in this meme, do it, and pingback to me!

12 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing (it’s about my new book!)

  1. cgiovanniwrites says:

    Excellent! I hope all is going well with your novel. πŸ™‚ I would love to learn ASL. When I was younger I had a lot of ear infections and trouble hearing people talk, so I learned how to read lips. (As a teen this was a great trick because I didn’t tell anyone I could do it!) I always wanted to learn ASL
    since. I’m really interested in this alternating POV thing! I wrote 3000 words today, and I am not even doing Nano! I actually did one scene in the male perspective, but it’s only going to be that one scene. I can’t wait to see you published!

      • cgiovanniwrites says:

        Issue now, my mind’s frozen because I realized I wrote all the juicy bits in the end, but not much of the beginning. I also spoke to a professional reference and realized that I need to change part of the story because it’s not realistic, but unless you’re in the medical field you wouldn’t know. I still want to make sure it’s realistic to everyone. Now, I have this real b***ch of a character named Vanna that I need to develop. Mhmm…bad characters are fun!

  2. Writerlious says:

    Oh this looks so fun!! (I’m embarrassed how behind on emails I am –I’m just now getting to my posts from two weeks ago…) I may have time next week to do this! If so I’ll be pinging back at ya.

    This book sounds so good. Can’t wait to see it. And can’t wait to read Bleeder. I’m next! I’m next!

  3. Deepika Kumaaraguru says:

    Hello there, Laura, new admirer here πŸ™‚ I randomly came across this post when I was browsing through Google and as I read through, I was intrigued by the book you are currently writing. Now, it’s almost three years since you made this post so I’m guessing this book is published by now? If it is, please notify me, I am very interested in reading this unique love story πŸ™‚ Keep rocking!

Leave a Reply

