Abercrombie and… What’s that smell?!

 

Abercrombie, I think your marketing is having adverse effects.

Anybody else slightly disturbed by this?

Anybody else slightly disturbed by this?

I just got a guy’s coffee. He was doused in your cologne. Instead of thinking, “Wow, he smells good,” I thought, “Ugh. He smells like an Abercrombie store.”

Objectively, the smell was good! If I’d never smelled it before, I would have liked it and maybe asked what kind of cologne he was wearing.

Instead, it reminded me of the dark stores with weird fake palm trees and embarrassingly attractive people handing me sale flyers. I was transported back to 9th grade when I first entered an Abercrombie store, felt immediately not cool enough, and left. I’m sure I wrinkled my nose. I may have given him a look.

He seemed so approachable!

Until I smelled him.

2 thoughts on “Abercrombie and… What’s that smell?!

  1. Writerlious says:

    Maybe it’s the lawyer in me, but I’m convinced that the class-action of the future is going to be a huge suit made up of former Abercrombie employees. I can’t imagine what it’s doing to those poor teenagers’ (and twenty-somethings’) lungs standing around in a store constantly pumping out cologne all day. Inhaling anything in that quantity would be bad, but I’m sure that cologne’s all chemical-ly and awful for you.

Leave a Reply

