Help! I need some revision-spiration.

We all know that I love, really love, Yellow Bike.

I love it.

But I’ve gotten about halfway through the first revision, and I’m at a stand-still.

Not because the plot sucks or the characters suck or I suddenly hate everything- I just can’t bring myself to revise.

I can’t make myself sit up in my office for the one, two, even three hours I have “free.”

I put free in quotes because, as we all know, I can always find things to do if I want to. And I’ve done them all. The last time I procrastinated I rearranged my bedroom furniture. This time, I’ve gotten really into napping. Like serious napping. I can nap with the best of them.

The challengers- silver and bronze, respectively.

The challengers- silver and bronze, respectively.

I have awesome critique partners who want to read it. That doesn’t make me care.

I have a book I believe in, and I really think it will sell. That doesn’t make me care.

I even have a dog who runs up the steps to my third floor office every time we walk by (it’s his favorite room). Even that doesn’t make me care.

So here’s a shout-out to all my writer friends:

Help! Inspire me! How do you get your butt in your chair when you’d rather be a champion napper?

15 thoughts on “Help! I need some revision-spiration.

  1. Gwen says:

    Maybe the best thing for now is to NOT put the butt in the chair! Maybe set your aside for a week or two. Your subconscious will tell you when you’re ready to return to it. Sometimes taking a break is the best thing I can do for my writing. I return energized, full of ideas, ready to tackle it head-on.

  2. Desirae says:

    LL – Whenever I feel so uninspired and want to just relax with some (insert any food or dessert here) and Destination Truth, I tell myself that the writers getting published are not the ones being couch potatoes. There is so much competition out there, the publishing contracts are going to go to the person with his or her bum in the chair, typing away. You want to see Yellow Bike in print, at the bookstore, and gripped in someone’s hands, right? Well, get to it! πŸ˜‰

  3. budsmith says:

    I edited two novels last year and am editing Tollbooth now. I never wanted to edit. It sucked/sucks, but … I had a method that helped me stick with it.

    I made an index card for each chapter/segment and bound it with a rubber band as a little flip book. The flip book got a mark on each card as I edited it. The book was always there on my desk and I found myself reminded more often that I had to keep editing to get through the book. A physical thing there, a reminder was necessary. It helped me a lot.

    • Laura Lee Anderson says:

      I like that idea, too! Stuff that’s physical and immediate helps me a lot- I usually do a reward system. But a reminder of what I’ve got left to do… well, let’s just say I don’t leave dishes in the sink for long.

  4. johannelyhne says:

    Sometimes, there is no explanation and the more you fuss about not being able to explain it the worse it gets … I know it can be (infuriating, I-want-to-cry-and-eat-a-bucket-of-Ben-&-Jerry) hard, but try to just allow yourself to leave your manuscript alone for as long as it takes for you to want to obsess about it again πŸ™‚

  5. Writerlious says:

    Caffeine. Turning the internet off. Forcing myself to do it until I get sucked in and it changes from work to fun (sometimes takes up to an hour). LOL.

    Get to it girl! I want to read it. And Bleeder. πŸ™‚

    • Laura Lee Anderson says:

      Yay! I’m glad you want to read it. πŸ™‚ I want you to read it, too. I really should get to it. Maybe I’ll ask my hubby to pre-heat the third floor and make tea tonight in order to inspire me, hehe.

Leave a Reply

