Getting back on the horse

I used to ride horses. When I was growing up. I volunteered at a therapeutic riding stable in exchange for lessons. I can use one hand to count the number of times I’ve fallen off. Getting back on can be a slow process.

I actually looked a lot like that kid when I was little. I still kinda do.

I actually looked a lot like that kid when I was little. I still kinda do.

First you’ve got to pet the horse. Let it sniff you. Let you sniff it. Then you test the stirrups, check the girth and the saddle. Maybe something was buckled wrong or maybe something was too loose or too tight the first time around. Then you grasp the saddle, get a leg up from a buddy, and swing yourself on up. Ignore the pounding of your heart. Be sure you don’t let the horse see you’re nervous- he can already smell it. Pet the horse again. Then get going! Even if it’s just for a few minutes.

Queried Bleeder last week, and again a few days ago. Just to remember what it was like.

Started to read the blogs I follow, too.

Wrote a 10-minute play three days ago. So I sat at my desk for the first time in months.

Went to goodreads yesterday for the first time in… weeks?

Today I heard Feel Good Inc. by the Gorillaz and my heart started to flippety-flop. It’s one of my writing songs.

Because today is the day! I’m using yesterday’s official end of my sleepy first trimester to make myself write. Today is the day I go back to my third floor room and pick up Yellow Bike. Even if it’s just for a half hour.

This is the longest break I’ve taken from writing since I started. I feel nervous and shy, like I don’t know what I’ll find. But today, my friends, is definitely the day.

Gotta get back on that horse.

One thought on “Getting back on the horse

Leave a Reply

