Song of Summer- Cover Reveal!

Robin hears only music.

Carter hears only silence.

Together they find their song.

Coming to you July 7th, 2015…

song of summer cover

Gorgeous cover designed by Jenny Zemanek

The thirteen qualities of Robin’s Perfect Man range from the mildly important “Handsome” to the all-important “Great taste in music.” After all, Westfield’s best high school folk musician can’t go out with some shmuck who only listens to top 40 crap. When hot Carter Paulson walks in the door of Robin’s diner, it looks like the list may have come to life. It’s not until the end of the meal that she realizes he’s profoundly deaf.

Carter isn’t looking for a girlfriend. Especially not a hearing one. Not that he has anything against hearing girls, they just don’t speak the same language. But when the cute waitress at Grape Country Dairy makes an effort to talk with him, he takes her out on his yellow Ducati motorcycle.

Music, language, and culture sing back-up as love writes the melody, but just how long can a summer song last?

To pre-order this book on Amazon, click here!

To pre-order this book on Barnes and Noble, click here!

For added fun, see the links for cool giveaways as a thank you for checking out my cover. You can enter both! Giveaways end 5/22/2015
Giveaway for Writers
Giveaway for Readers

This is the part of the cover reveal where either A) You’ve stopped reading or B) You want to see a fun interview with the blog host and the author. Since I’m hosting my own reveal, I’ve asked my friend Carrie Ann to interview me! (Check her out on Twitter @Writer_Carrie or at her blog, here)

Carrie: First of all, I love your cover. Tell me a little bit about how this idea came to you.

Me: It came to me in a dream sounds cliché, but it’s true. I dreamed about a situation that occurred all the time in the coffee shop where I worked: A deaf person came in to order, and all I could say in sign language was “Thank you.”

Carrie: So is Westfield, the quaint small town in your book, a real place?

Me: Yes I grew up there! Many of the places mentioned- Midway Park, Chautauqua Institution, the Arts and Crafts Festival- are real places and I hope I did them justice.

Carrie: Have you always wanted to be a writer?

Me: No, actually! When I was a kid, I wanted to be a veterinarian, and then when I was a teen I wanted to be an actor. I still am an actor, but I started writing because I like the process of creating a story as much as interpreting one.

Carrie: Has being an actor given you any unique insights into the writing world?

Me: Many! I understand storytelling and strong verb choices very well. I know what it’s like to be in a character’s head, which is why first person present with alternating points of view works so well for me- I take a turn in Robin’s head, then Carter’s, then Robin’s, etc.

Carrie: So, without any spoilers, Carter is deaf, correct? What research did you have to do to best understand him?

Me: I did a lot of research! I started with blogs, mostly, and articles from The Limping Chicken, which compiles Deaf news and blogs from all over the UK. I also took two semesters of ASL (American Sign Language) classes at the Western Pennsylvania School for the Deaf, which was wonderful because they endeavor to teach not only ASL, but also about Deaf culture.

Carrie: Why would you recommend readers putting this book at the top of their To Be Read pile?

Me: You get to see a unique, sweet, fun couple falling in love from both of their perspectives. It’s a perfect summer read.

Carrie: Thank you so much for the interview! I can’t wait to visit Carter, Robin, and the town of Westfield again!

22 thoughts on “Song of Summer- Cover Reveal!

  1. Laurel says:

    Preordered, Laura dear. 🙂 I don’t have a favorite summer song, but I’m really loving The Willis Clan music right now and it feels like summer here in GA. Does that count?

  2. Alyssa says:

    Wow, this is fantastic! I’m actively looking for books with more representation of disabled people, so this is awesome 🙂 And the premise is FANTASTIC.

    My favourite summer song would probably be … heck, I don’t actually know that many happy songs. Says a lot about me.

  3. Lisa says:

    I’m so excited to see that you’re getting your book published! I can’t wait to read it and recommend it to my students!

    There are so many great summer songs, but the best is Kokomo by the Beach Boys. some of Kenny Chesney’s beach songs or some Latin salsa tunes are also what put me in the summer time mood.

  4. Courtney says:

    I know I’ve said this a hundred times already, but I can’t wait to read this. It sounds amazing. Congratulations, lady!

    And favorite summer song? Summer in the City, by Regina Spektor. The Lovin’ Spoonful song of the same name is great, too.

Leave a Reply

